Art Projects Grades 2 and 3, Art Projects Grades 4 and 5, Uncategorized

End of the Year Thank You Cards

This was a last minute idea and I am so happy about it.

It is not a good idea to start up new projects in the last 2 weeks of school because of drying up time and practicality.  I like to have all finished so in the last 2 classes we can just do sketching exercises or simple activities were we get to use paper scraps or recycling material.  I saw a project where you dye paper using simple (read cheap) markers, a plastic folder and water.  As simple as that.

I asked students to design a THANK YOU logo (I wrote on the board using many different fonts) and they could add drawings as they liked, I only asked them to keep it quite simple.  I then handed them a permanent marker (sharpies or any alcohol based marker) to outline their design.  Once that was done, they wrote something nice inside for their teachers. I helped my youngest (from grades 1 to 3) with prompts such as

Thank you for….

We really appreciate your…..

We enjoyed….

We always looked forward to…..

We liked your……..

Once they had written something nice inside and the design was outlined with a permanent marker, I handed them markers and a plastic folder.  They could choose a combination of colors then just randomly add scribble with the markers on the folder. They then splashed water on top (if using sharpies you will need alcohol instead of water) with an atomizer and place the card on top.

Let dry.

I suggest you peek when they hand those card to teachers. It is rewarding to see them smile!!!

These were made by Grade 2 students:

 

These were made by Grade 6:

 

Leave a comment